Popular Posts

Friday Reads: All Formats Edition

Happy Friday fellow book friends!

This week has been a fun one for new book releases. Karma Brown's new book, In this Moment, was released, R.S. Grey - my favorite romcom author - released her latest book, The Foxe and the Hound, and there are some great new YA releases this week with new books from Sandhya Menon who's YA contemporary, When Dimple Met Rishi is one of the genre's most anticipated books this spring, Maureen Goo's latest, I Believe In a Thing Called Love, and Sara B Larson's Dark Breaks the Dawn.

To all of you who are suffering from some a serious case of Book Expo America and Book Con FOMO: I am with you! The Instagram stories and tweets are giving me some serious planning vibes - because I am so planning on being there next year! I saw the set up for Marie Lu's WarCross ARCS and about died. So if you're there and for some strange reason you're actually reading this blog - first, why are you reading this?! Kidding - I'm so happy you're reading, but seriously you have much cooler things to be doing, so please go have fun. Know that those of us left to pen blog posts on our couch are with you in spirit, and we may be harboring secret feelings of jealousy - but really want you to have a good time because that's the kind of people we are. Go with God and enjoy all those amazing ARCS you're going to get.

So while I daydream about being at BEA17 and Bookcon, here's what I'm reading this weekend:

On Audio:

Illuminae (Illuminae Files no. 1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

So I typically try to listen to one or two audiobooks per week. In this format I tend to choose memoirs and other non fiction, typically read by the author themselves. For some reason a lot of time a single narrator covering the entire cast of the book doesn't work for me.
That's not the case with this book!
This book has multiple narrators and a full cast behind it! It also has amazing sound effects - which is essential because it's set in SPACE!
Okay, the format of this book is a little different and could be offputting for some readers because it's made up of documents and conversations. If you tried the book and couldn't get into it because of the unique format, give the audio a try because it's one of the best audio versions of a book I've ever heard and the narrators are really good. Also, this story is amazing and it's giving me life right now. I'll probably finish this up by reading the actual book at some point this weekend - but the audio is amazing.

On eBook:

The Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser (Bloomsbury, June 6, 2017)

This is a book that I received an ARC of via Netgalley - it's out for the rest of the world next Tuesday, June 6. Right now, I am over half way done and I am loving the story. It's a YA fantasy with some seriously fun pirate vibes! The main character, Caro, is a wherryman who lives aboard a small cargo vessel on a river system with her father. Together they navigate the rivers delivering their cargo, until Caro's father is arrested. Caro suddenly finds herself on a mission to deliver a mysterious crate in order to get her father out of the brig. Pursued by pirates, Caro's life is at stake every part of the way.
This book is so much fun! It's a quick read and I'm looking forward to finishing it up - keep an eye out for a full review sometime in the next week or so.

In Paperback:

A French Wedding by Hannah Tunnicliffe (Doubleday, June 6, 2017)

This is a galley that was sent to me by Doubleday and I'm really excited to read more! I've only gotten through the first few chapters and already the setting is beautiful and I'm starting to get into the story.
A French Wedding is out on June 6 - so keep an eye out for a review from me.
For now, here's a little blurb about the book from Amazon:

A French Wedding is a delicious novel about six college friends reuniting on the coast of Brittany to celebrate one of their own's fortieth birthday. With sumptuous food and plenty of wine, the table is set for tricky romantic entanglements, fiery outbursts, and a range of secrets. Readers who loved The Vacationers and The Little Paris Bookshop will devour this irresistible novel

So that's what I'm reading this weekend!
TGIF to all my reading friends, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!




1 comment

  1. You can use a mix of|a mixture of} differently-sized textures to optimize for measurement. Check that the service provider has an acceptable system to be able to|to have the power to} preview the model. Pen Stylus Send the model in a format could be} inspected in 360 levels. There is only one|is just one} materials assigned to the model, except otherwise necessary. The model conforms to the polycount limits of different media codecs where the model may be used, such as Facebook 3D posts, AR Quick Look, and VR.

    ReplyDelete